cichlids.com

Cichlids :  cichlids.com Forums
Discussions about cichlids in general 
My new Oscar is not eating
Posted by: Bob ()
Date: January 01, 2005 04:12AM

Please advise'
I brought home (1) Tiger Oscar, (1)Albino Oscar and (1) Jack Dempsey two days ago and put them into my 55 GAL tank with the light on (opps, newbie here). At first, the Albino and the Tiger Oscars got frozen as soon as they got into the tank. I looked at them for a moment and started to worried, so I checked the water and it was fine, I decided to turn off the light, then they started moving. The trouble is my Albino Oscar does not eat at all. I tried to feed them floating pellets, flakes and bloodworms, but does not seems to care about eating. He just dances back and forth against his reflection off the tank. Please help, what can I do to get my fish to eat, I'm afraid that he will starved to death.

Thanks

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: My new Oscar is not eating
Posted by: Mr. Limpet ()
Date: January 01, 2005 11:26AM

Try salt.

Posted by: Barb Okla ()
Date: January 01, 2005 11:36AM

Normal behavior for Oscars. The Albino should eat soon as he ajust to the tank. Oscars can go long periods and not eat. As you have only had him a few days, he is fine. IF he does not, try re-arranging the tank deco or add something "new" and see if gets his attention. A Tall fake plant, drift wood ect...They are swimmers and not "hiders" like the JD will be. My Oscar always swam in front of the tank wanting out, and he was in a 125 gal tank.

Oscars and JDs like the same water premiters, Hopefully you are close:

pH: 6.8 - 7.5
Temp: 74F to 80F (23c-26c)
Nitrites should always be 0ppm
Ammonia should always be 0ppm
Nitrates should be keep under 40ppm: you can keep this down by 30% water changes and vacuuming the grave weekly. Do them at the same time or your nitrates wil not come down.